Quick Answer: How Many Mahakuma Are There In Assam?

How many MLA are there in Assam?

It is housed in Dispur, the capital of Assam, geographically situated in present Western Assam region.

The Legislative Assembly comprises 126 Members of Legislative Assembly, directly elected from single-seat constituencies.

Its term is five years, unless sooner dissolved..

Who is the DC of Nalbari 2020?

List of DC’s in Nalbari DistrictSl NoName of Deputy CommissionerPeriod23Anant Lal Gyani, IAS13/10/201724Sanjeeb Kr. Das, ACS16/01/201925Bharat Bhushan Dev Choudhury, ACS05/07/202026Purabi Konwar , ACSTill Date23 more rows

How many sub divisions are there in Assam 2020?

Since India’s independence in 1947, the administrative entities of Assam have increased over a period of time. With 54 subdivisions initially, the Government of Assam incorporated 24 more subdivisions with 5 new districts on 26 January 2016, increasing the count to 78.

How many Division are there in Assam?

fiveThe state of Assam in India has five regional divisions, each comprising a number of districts. The person responsible for the administration of a division is designated as a Divisional Commissioner.

How many valleys are there in Assam?

HomeKEY PARAMETERS AT A GLANCEParameterHills & Barak Valley DivisionAssamDistricts527Hill Districts / 6th Schedules areasDima Hasao Karbi Anglong2Barak Valley DistrictsCachar Hailakandi Karimganj36 more rows

Who is the first CM in Assam?

CHIEF MINISTERS OF ASSAM SINCE 1937Sl.Name & PhotographFrom1.Maulavi Saiyid Sir Muhammad Saadulla, PremierApril 1, 19372.Gopinath Bordoloi, PremierSeptember 19, 19383.Maulavi Saiyid Sir Muhammad Saadulla, PremierNovember 17, 19394.Maulavi Saiyid Sir Muhammad Saadulla, PremierAugust 25, 194216 more rows

Which is the richest district in Assam?

KamrupThe district-wise collection of revenue shows that Kamrup again topped the list with the highest contribution – Rs 97.47 crore – in 2010-11, implying that the district where the city is located guzzled the highest amount of IMFL in the past financial year.

How many development blocks are there in Assam?

03842-77408 ; 77496(0ff.)…ASSAm – CIC – 23 Districts – 219 Block Offices.DISTRICT – BarpetaDISTRICT – BongaigaonDISTRICT – CacharDISTRICT- NagaonDISTRICT – NalbariDISTRICT – Sibsagar13 more rows•Jun 18, 2006

Which is the smallest district in Assam?

Smallest districtIn terms of Area, South Salmara-Mankachar district is the smallest district in Assam with an area of 568 square km.In terms of population, Majuli district is the least populated district in Assam with a population of approx. 167,304.

Who named Assam?

The name ‘Aham’ or ‘Asom’ was probably given by the Ahoms who came to Assam in 1228 A.D. Even though the origin is ambiguous but it is believed that the modern name Assam is itself an anglicization. The Ahom’s entered Assam fully assimilated and ruled Assam for nearly six hundred years.

Who is the chief of Assam police?

Key Officials (Assam Police HQ)NameDesignationShri Bhaskar Jyoti Mahanta, IPSDirector General of Police, AssamShri B. K. Mishra, IPSADGP (OSD), AssamShri Gyanendra Pratap Singh, IPSADGP (L&O), AssamShri Harmeet Singh, IPSADGP (Admn. / Security / M&L / Border), Assam10 more rows

Who is the DC of Assam?

DistrictsSl No.DistrictDeputy Commissioner1BaskaShri Ranjan Sarma, ACS2BarpetaShri Munindra Sarma, ACS3BiswanathShri Pranab Kumar Sarmah, ACS4BongaigaonDr. MS Lakshmi Priya, IAS29 more rows

Which is the biggest district in Assam?

Karbi AnglongKarbi Anglong is the largest district of Assam with nearly 10,434 square kilometers of undivided area followed by Sonitpur with an area of 5324 square kilometers. Majuli carved out of the Northern parts of Jorhat is the first river island district of India. Each district is headed by the Deputy Commissioner.

Why Assam was divided?

The province was annulled in 1911 following a sustained mass protest campaign and on 1 April 1912 the two parts of Bengal were reunited and a new partition based on language followed, Oriya and Assamese areas were separated to form new administrative units: Bihar and Orissa Province was created to the west, and Assam …

What is the new district of Assam?

Official declaration on August 15. Bajali, the civil subdivision of Barpeta district has become the 34th, district of Assam. Bajali is located at around 103 km west of Guwahati.